Let me start with a confession; I’m a person who gets stressed and worried really easily and really often. There, I said it. The thing is that I really thrive in a fast paced environment as well and love, love, love when thousand things are all happening at the same time, that’s when I get all excided and do cart-wheels down the road (well, in my mind I do, I can’t actually turn cart-wheels). So what I need is some good old balance, and as we all know (right?) balance is one of the hardest things to obtain, for me it is anyway.

 

Lately I’ve been starting (i.e.: being put up to it by force from my boyfriend) a new tradition, or, more precisely, a morning ritual. Instead of looking at my inbox every time I wake up during the night and then again first thing in the morning (I literally haven’t opened my eyes before I’ve refreshed the inbox feed), I put on some classical or just acoustic calm music, light candles, put on a pot of tea, read a book or magazine and start my day with this kind of personal, calming space. Breakfast is now my favourite time of day and the calmness I (try to) feel stays with me during the day, it really is true that the morning mood sets the mood for the rest of the day.

 

With that said, breakfast is also one of the meals that I find hardest to keep healthy. There is always croissants, fatty yoghurt or sugary cereals in my mind and I don’t want that. So I’ve gone on a little mission to find tasty, healthy and hearty breakfast foods that doesn’t take an hour to prepare every morning. First one to make it to OurPantry is… drum roll… the Quinoa Granola, *badamam*!

 

 

I wanted to keep things simple and also I wanted a granola that didn’t just contain different kinds of nuts, which is so often the case. So my Granola is smack packed with healthy, healthy protein from the quinoa, fibre and vitamin B from the whole oats, a whole lot of vitamins from the sunflower seeds, being one of the most nutrient-dense seeds, digestive aid from the flaxseeds and an unprocessed source of sweetness and stickiness from the dates (have you noticed my obsession with medjoul dates yet?). Enough said! Here’s the recipe:

Dry ingredients:

Quinoa, uncooked and unsoaked, 3 dl

Oats, whole, 3 dl

Sunflower seeds, raw, 3 dl

Flax seeds, 2 dl

Salt, about 2 pinches

 

Wet ingredients:

Flaxseeds soaked in water, 1 dl with 2/3 dl water OR you can use 3 egg whites

Medjoul dates, 6 pitted

Olive oil, 3 tablespoons

Vanilla extract, ½ teaspoon

 

– Mix the flaxseeds with the water and set aside, it should sit until the water and seeds have formed a jelly consistency. If you use egg whites instead, ignore this step.

– Put the oven on 175°C.

 

Now, mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

 

Mix the wet ingredients, along with the soaked flaxseeds OR egg whites in a mixer until the dates are dissolved.

 

Pour the wet ingredients on top of the dry ingredients and, using your hands, mix it all up.

 

Spread out evenly in a baking tin and bake for about 20-25 minutes. Let cool and using a spoon, crack it up so you get different sizes of the granola crunches. Store in an airtight container.

 

 

That’s it! Easy huh?

 

I usually eat this granola with some chopped bananas and a sprinkle of cinnamon or with some cashew yoghurt (basically just soaked cashews with lemon juice and salt all blended in a mixer) and blueberries when I feel like something a little bit more heavy.

 

So, Good Morning to ya’ll and light some candles will you!

 

Cissi

 

