Happy Friday everyone!

 

So it’s that time of the week again! And at the beginning of every week you think that the time goes by sooo slowly, but then here we are… again… and the week actually just swooched (did I just make that word up?) by… again. Ok, enough with the babbling, you get my picture right!?

 

This week I’ve been trying out a couple of recipes but they didn’t turn out as perfect as I wanted them to so… re-overs coming up (having/trying to have a food blogg takes some serious time let me tell you). There was one surprise though; the sweet burned almonds turned out quit nice and crunchy. Ah, who am I kidding? I can’t stop eating them, d#rn!

 

 

Medjoul Dates, 6 pitted

Tahini (or any other nut butter), 1 teaspoon

Lemon juice, from ½ lemon

Almonds, about 2 dl, raw

Coconut oil/butter, just for buttering the baking tin

Salt, a pinch

 

Preheat the oven to 150°C.

 

Blend the pitted dates, tahini, lemon juice and salt in a blender until you have a smooth, creamy texture. Add as much water as you need to get the mixer moving, tahini is quit creamy so if you use a nut butter that is more solid you will need more water.

 

Mix with the almonds and scoop it all up in a buttered baking tin. Bake in oven for about 15 min. My oven is old (when it’s on I have to wear a glove just to touch the handle) and things get burned easily in there, so I had to turn the heat down half way through. But with your ovens I think it’ll be just fine.

 

Let them chill down and break apart the almonds, one by one. Done and done!

 

They are, conveniently enough, best when eaten chilled so bake yourself a batch, store in airtight containers or zip bags and take with you as a healthy snack. So when you need a pick-me-up (because Friday feels sooo far away) grab these suckers instead of the neon colored, gelatiny gummy bears. You’ll thank me later!

 

Have a good one folks!

Cissi

 

