So I hear it is autumn back home, it’s darker, the trees are orange and red and you just want to stay indoors, drink tea and cuddle.

 

Living in Shanghai, the autumn is not quite here yet (at all since it’s 22 °C outside), but being a Swede and all, my body has certainly turned on its autumn mode. I’m longing for the stillness of the nature, the rawness of the cold ground and the crisp fresh air. It’s funny what you miss the most when you live on the other side of the planet, if I lived at home I’m sure I would curse the cold and wet weather every morning.

 

But here we are, so instead of wandering around the hills of my family’s country home, I’m wandering down Wulumuqi Road and taking in all the fresh foods at the food stalls along it. They are filled with pumpkins, fresh thyme, bay leaves, apples, mushrooms and root vegetables, so in a way, it is autumn here as well.

 

Continuing down this “autumn path” I made a traditional apple crumble pie yesterday. I don’t think I ever made one before so the conventional recipe didn’t cloud my mind and made me look for the butter or sugar. Instead I took what I had at home and made my kind of crumble, and I have to say: delicious!

 

Shopping list (1 big pie or 2 smaller ones):

–       Apples, 6 medium sized

–       Whole Oats, 6 dl

–       Almonds, 2 dl

–       Flaxseeds, 3 tablespoons

–       Almond butter (or any other nut-butter), 1 tablespoon

–       Medjoul dates, 7

–       Maple suryp, ½ dl

–       Cinnamon, 1 and ½ tablespoon

 

Start with adding 1 dl oats and ½ dl almonds in a blender. Slice the apples and combine with the oat and almond meal and add the maple suryp and cinnamon. Knead and mix with your hands, put aside to marinate.

 

 

Then, in a bowl add 3 and ½ dl whole oats and 1tablespoon flaxseeds. In a blender meal the rest of the oats, the almonds and the flaxseeds and add to the bowl. Pit the dates and with ½ dl water blend in a mixer and add to the bowl. Last but not least, add the almond butter and then, using your hands, combine until you have a crumble-like texture.

 

Place the apple slices (and the marinade) evenly in the bottom of a baking tin and sprinkle the crumble on top (there will be quite a lot of crumble, I couldn’t help myself). Bake in the oven on 150 °C for about 20-30 min (depending on your oven, mine is old) or until the crumble has turned golden brown. And there you have it!

 

 

I am truly sorry for the disturbingly unattractive baking tins, there are no excuses and I promise (cross my heart and swear to die) that I will buy pretty porcelain ones until next time!

 

Happy Autumn!

Cecilia

 

 

