Let’s get personal. Who am I and why am I writing this blogg?

Well, where do I start!? Since I can only account for myself, this will be my story and Catie get to tell you her story with her own words.

For me, food has always been a big part of my social life. Coming from a family who loves to gather around the dinner table and enjoy our food together, eating has always been a very natural way to get together with friends and family. Having said that, I can assure you I was not the one with the apron on. Oh no! Both my father, my mother and my sister have always been the chefs around our house and my close friends were all into cooking as well. My (then non existing) cooking skills were the focus of many jokes and my given task was always to set the table.

A lot have changed since then, both negative and positive.

I started to really get in to cooking just a couple of years ago when my stomach problems (lets leave out the details, we don’t want to get that personal do we?) I’ve been having since I was 15 years old, got worse. I started to ask myself what I was really fuelling my body with and how it affected me. Since then I’ve tried every diet in the book, you name it – I’ve tried it. Every time I started a new diet I felt better just to crash land back in to my old problems just a few weeks or even days later.

Then a year and a half ago I started to feel discomfort and pain in my finger joints and despite several visits to different doctors I never really got a diagnosis. So I started to do my own research (people, don’t try this at home; everyone who ever tried this knows that you’ll end up a hypochondriac) and realised that there are so much information on food as medicine, I was mesmerized at the possibilities and I dived right in.

About 6 months ago I got my diagnosis; arthritis and chronic colon inflammation, and my belief about using food as your medicine (or at least eating in a way that does not to actively destroy your health) was further put to the test.

The good news is that I am grateful to have wandered down this path. I can’t imagine not eating the way I do and I wouldn’t want to change that for the world! I’m not going to say that everything is perfect but a weight has been lifted of my shoulders (and my belly) and I feel lighter in body and mind. You can call it woolly hippie crap if you want to but I will still feel great.

To sum it up, my guidelines when it comes to food are to stay away from meat, dairy, wheat and gluten as well as processed foods. Some of you will wonder what I do eat since these foods are your staple foods, but let me tell you that there are a lot of choices and interfusions, more than I ever imagined.

This blogg is my chance and my attempt to share what I’ve learned along the way, how I cook to maintain my health as well as to enjoy food in a natural and fun way like I always have.

I hope you will enjoy as much as I do!

Much love

Cissi

For further reading, here are some of my all time favourite inspirations:

Kris Carr

Kris was my first encounter with this new way of eating, true inspiration.

China Study and Forks Over Knives: The Plant-Based Way to Health

Two books that change the way you see food and what it does to your body as well as the environment.

PlanEat

See the film, really, it’s an eye opener!

Whole Living

A magazine that I subscribe to, everyday health and lifestyle tips.

Dr Hyman

A holistic doctor who gets you thinking about your body and health in a different, more holistic, way.

David Wolfe

The “go-to” guy when it comes to using food as your medicine

